4 September 2008

Nobel Peace Prize

The Nobel Peace Prize is one of five Nobel Prizes bequeathed by the Swedish industrialist and inventor Alfred Nobel. According to Nobel's will, the Peace Prize should be awarded "to the person who shall have done the most or the best work for fraternity between nations, for the abolition or reduction of standing armies and for the holding and promotion of peace congresses."

The Peace Prize is awarded annually in Oslo, the capital of Norway (Alfred Nobel's will stated that the Nobel Peace Prize should be awarded by a committee of five people elected by the Norwegian Parliament). The actual prize always is presented on the 10th of December, the anniversary of the death of Nobel.


Madalena said...

It's one of the most important prizes, I presume. Thanks for the post, Ant Célia! We all wish Peace!

CMP said...

Specially inside our hearts!